Pre-loved jeans

I’ve had a pair of Jeans that I love but never wear: perfect fit at the waist but they seem to have shrunk in length with each wash so that even with ballerinas they don’t feel quite right.

After a lot of humming and hawing I decided to combine them with a dress I don’t wear any longer because the top is too tight.

The finished skirt, using an old pair of jeans and dress

The finished skirt, using an old pair of jeans and dress

A few happy hours of cutting, pinning and sewing and I had a new pencil skirt! As a huge fan of Desigual clothing I decided to give the skirt a bit of their special touch, adding freehand embroidered geckos to ‘connect’ the two fabrics. See what you think…

Freehand embroidered geckos - detail

Freehand embroidered geckos – detail

Having made this skirt really motivated me to use more things from my bag full of beloved but no longer (or never – I admit) worn bits and pieces. Amongst them an absolute favourite pair of boyfriend jeans that I’ve worn so much it thinned and tore in all the wrong places!

With more inspiration gained from Desigual I decided to make a tulip skirt and use the jeans waist as the bottom part of the skirt, with the zip acting as a front slit. For the rest of the skirt I used the jeans legs and some lovely cotton fabric (underplayed with Calico because it was a bit floppy compared to the denim).

Tulip skirt from pre-loved jeans with added extras

Tulip skirt from pre-loved jeans with added extras

After making the basic shape I got a little carried away – as you can see – adding more bits like a detachable pocket, a belt and colourful buttons … I had real fun making the two skirts without the use of a pattern, just improvising, being creative and seeing what would develop.

I definitely like the results. I hope you do too.

Front and back of the tulip skirt

Front and back of the tulip skirt

Leave a Reply

