Altered Book Challenge

A while back I was at Duloch Library in Dunfermline for a meeting and was given a terribly sad looking paperback that had just been returned by a customer. The book had been soaked in water (or worse) and the staff members on duty were going to throw it out. But then they thought of me and challenged me to restore this book into one of my altered book treasures. Well, I did and here it is:

The finished book sculpture

The finished book sculpture

So, what did I actually do to rescue this? The entire top half of the book was still a bit soggy, the pages bent and discoloured.

The original book as it was returned to the library

The original book as it was returned to the library

First I tore off all the damaged parts of the book and folded the edges. I quite liked the woman on the front cover so I cut both covers so that some of the images would stay on.

The book after tearing off the top of the pages and the cover being cut

The book after tearing off the top of the pages and the cover being cut

With the title ‘Jasmine Nights’ I felt I needed some flowers, punched out from some spare book pages and dyed with coloured inks.

Collection of paper flowers

Collection of paper flowers

In the back of the book I built a trellis to hold the flowers up.

The book with the trellis

The book with the trellis

I attached the flowers to paper string and fixed them to the book pages and the trellis. Hope you like it.

The finished book sculpture

The finished book sculpture

Leave a Reply

